Sign Up   |  
Log In
Username:
Password:
Log In
  |   Contact Us

Utah Marriage License Info

Home   |   Local Services   |   Reception Sites   |   Specials & Deals   |   Community   |   Marriage License   |   Wedding Blog   |   Link To Us   |   About Us
Utah Marriage License Information

When you are actually applying for your marriage license, you do not have to be living in Utah. In other words, it is possible to get a marriage license in Utah without actually owning a home or living in a rented Utah residence. It is possible to come into Utah, get married and exit. A marriage license in Utah, when granted, is good enough to last you 30 days. If you have not gotten married by that time, you will need to apply for a second Utah marriage license.

When you are filling out the application for Utah and applying at the issuing office, you will need to bring supporting documentation so that both marriage partners can prove that they are actually the people they claim they are. This type of documentation takes the form of a driver’s license, a birth certificate or a passport. One of these three must be used, otherwise there is a risk of the Utah marriage license not being issued. The social security numbers of both partners in the marriage are also required.

Finally, if there is a previous marriage with one or both partners, proof of that marriage ending is required. Aside from those requirements, there are no other tests needed for the marriage to take place. The fee for a Utah marriage license is around $50 and most counties will only accept cash payments.

The Utah marriage license is good for allowing you to conduct a conventional marriage and a common law marriage. People under the age of 18 will need parental consent and those under the age of 16 will need court consent to get married, but the Utah marriage license does cover those particular marriage types. A Utah marriage license does not cover same sex marriage which is not legal in the state of Utah. Cousin marriage is covered when the cousins are 65 or older. Cousin marriage is also possible with people 55 or older provided that they provide proof of reproductive incapability. Finally, proxy marriages are allowed in some counties under certain conditions.

As you can see from the above paragraphs, there is a great deal of variation regarding what can actually take place vis-à-vis marriage in the state of Utah. There is more variation than exists in most states. For that reason, people looking for a Utah marriage license should definitely check with their local county office to make sure they have the most accurate and recent information available on this topic.
 
 
Advertise | Business Login | Local Services | Specials & Deals | Community | Marriage License | Wedding Blog | Link To Us | About Us